Boards and Committees

This page contains information about our boards and their membership.

On this page:

Tri-County Regional Planning Commission

The full board of TCRPC is the primary decision-making body for the organization and is composed of 22 members. Peoria, Tazewell, and Woodford Counties are each represented by their own 7 voting members. Commissioners for each county are appointed by their respective County Board Chairperson. IDOT is represented by one voting member, who is appointed by the Illinois Secretary of Transportation. The Full Commission meets on the fourth Thursday of every month at 5:30 pm, unless otherwise posted. To view future meeting dates and meeting materials, please visit our Meetings+Events page.

Full Commission Membership
Name County Email
Bender, Matthew Peoria
Bockler, Roy Woodford
Crawford, Russ Tazewell
Gorman, Don Peoria
Hinrichsen, Mike 1st Vice Chair Woodford
Huser, Doug Woodford
Kingdon, Ben Woodford
Lind, Eric Woodford
Menold, Greg Tazewell
Miller, Jim IDOT
Mingus, Seth Tazewell
Neuhauser, Tim Chairman Tazewell
Phelan, Michael Peoria
Proehl, Nancy Tazewell
Rosenbohm, Paul 2nd Vice Chair Peoria
Salzer, Phil Peoria
Smith, Mike Treasurer Woodford
Sundell, Susan Secretary Tazewell
Van Winkle, Stephen Peoria
VACANT Woodford County VACANT

Commission Documents

Standing Committees

The Commission may establish committees to assist in the operation, management, and program planning activities of TCRPC. Committees may focus on internal operations (e.g. Ways and Means Committee, Personnel Committee) or may focus on a specific issue or project. All committees are made up of Commissioners.

The Executive Board serves as the policy and formulation body for the Commission. The Executive Board consists of the five Commission Officers and four other Commissioners appointed by the full board. All Executive Board members serve one-year terms. The executive director of TCRPC also serves as a non-voting, advisory member to the Executive Board. The Executive Board may perform all the functions and duties of the Commission, should a full quorum of Commission members not be present. The Executive Board meets monthly, on the Monday before each full Commission meeting, unless otherwise posted.

The Ways and Means Committee reviews and advises the Commission on the fiscal affairs of the Commission. The Ways and Means Committee meets the fourth Thursday of every month before the full commission meeting from 4:30-5:30 p.m. unless otherwise posted.

The Personnel Committee reviews and advises the Commission on personnel matters, and carries out other responsibilities as specified by the Commission. The Personnel Committee only meets when needed.

The Nominations Committee nominates Commissioners to serve in officer positions and to serve on committees. The Nominations Committee meets yearly–typically in the month of May–to prepare nominations for the coming fiscal year, unless otherwise posted.

Executive Board Membership
Name Represents Position
Tim Neuhauser Chairman Tazewell
Mike Hinrichsen 1st Vice Chair Woodford
Paul Rosenbohm 2nd Vice Chair Peoria
Mike Smith Treasurer Woodford
Sue Sundell Secretary Tazewell
Russ Crawford Tazewell
Mike Phelan Peoria
Ben Kingdon Woodford
Steve Van Winkle Peoria
Ways and Means Membership
Name Represents Position
Mike Smith, Chair Woodford
Tim Neuhauser Tazewell
Steve Van Winkle Peoria
Personnel Committee Membership
Name Represents Position
Mike Hinrichsen, Chair Woodford
Mike Phelan Peoria
Sue Sundell Tazewell
Nominations Committee Membership
Name Represents Position
Paul Rosenbohm, Chair Peoria
Russ Crawford Tazewell
Mike Hinrichsen Woodford

Peoria-Pekin Urbanized Area Transportation Study (PPUATS)

TCRPC established the Peoria-Pekin Urbanized Area Transportation Study (PPUATS) in 1976 to function as the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) for our area. As the recognized MPO, PPUATS carries out the federally-required continuing, cooperative, and comprehensive (3-C) transportation planning processes for the Peoria-Pekin Urbanized Area. PPUATS members include the three counties, numerous municipalities in the region, the Greater Peoria Mass Transit District, IDOT, the Metropolitan Airport Authority of Peoria, and TCRPC.

Learn more than you’ll ever want to know about PPUATS on our Transportation page.

Peoria Lakes Basin Alliance

The Peoria Lakes Basin Alliance (PLBA) was established in 2001 to coordinate efforts to rehabilitate and preserve the ecological, recreational, cultural, and economic attributes of the Peoria Lakes. Today, the PLBA consists of the Heartland Water Resources Council, The Nature Conservancy, and the Tri-County Regional Planning Commission (TCRPC). The three agencies work together to ensure a concerted and unified message for the restoration and revitalization of the Illinois River and Peoria Lakes. The PLBA meets on the second Wednesday of every month at 3:00 p.m at the TCRPC offices. To view future meeting dates and meeting materials, please visit our Meetings+Events page.